Georgia is a sovereign state in the Caucasus region of Europe. Located at the crossroads of Europe and Asia, it is bounded to the west by the Black Sea, to the north by Russia, to the south by Turkey and Armenia, and to the southeast by Azerbaijan. Georgia is a unitary, semi-presidential republic, with the government elected through a representative democracy. The country, known as the cradle of wine offers Caucasus mountain range, Black Sea coastline, curative climate and mineral waters, national parks and UNESCO Heritage Sites, rich culture, delicious cuisine and famous Georgian hospitality.
The capital of Georgia is Tbilisi located in Eastern Georgia, lies on the banks of the Mtkvari River and is surrounded by mountains on all three sides. Tbilisi gets its name from the Old Georgian word "tbili," meaning warm, due to its hot, sulfurous water.
  • Geographic coordinates: 41 43' degrees E and 44 48' degrees N.
  • Area: 200 sq. km.
  • Population density: 7 730 people/km2
  • Authority: Tbilisi is governed by two major bodies: Tbilisi City hall and Tbilisi Council (Sakrebulo).
  • Administrative divisions: 6 districts - Old Tbilisi, Vake-Saburtalo, Didube-Chugureti, Gldani-Nadzaladevi, Isani-Samgori, Didgori
  • Calling code: 32